About Us

The Scientia Team

Scientia would not be possible without our dedicated team, consisting of the Editor-in-Chief of Scientia, the Student Editorial Board, the Faculty Review Board, and our Publishing Advisor.

  • The Editor-in-Chief (also known as the VP) is responsible for overseeing the submission, editing, and design process of the Fall Newsletter and the Spring publication of Scientia. The current Editor-in-Chief is Isha Thapar.

  • Student Editors are responsible for assisting in reviewing and revising articles for Scientia, as well as helping to make acceptance decisions. Editors also have the option to join the design process and help put together the final copy of Scientia. We currently have 9 Student Editors, listed under the "Editorial Board" page.

  • The Faculty Review Board consists of Baylor Professors who assist in the editing process, providing valuable insight for both Student Editors and Authors of accepted articles. The Faculty Review Board for Scientia 2020 consisted of Dr. Tamarah Adair, Dr. Patrick Farmer, Dr. Linda Olafsen, and Dr. Dennis Johnston.

  • Our Publishing Advisor, Dr. Rizalia Klausmeyer, reviews Scientia in its entirety prior to official release, ensuring that our journal is held to a high standard.

Additionally, we would like to thank the Baylor College of Arts and Sciences, as well as the Baylor Office of Undergraduate Research for their support and guidance.

Our Publications

We produce two publications: a Newsletter in the fall, and our Scientia Journal in the spring.

The Newsletter is a new yearly publication, and was first published in the fall of 2019. The Newsletter includes student summer research experiences and research internship information, among other resources. The 2019 Newsletter even featured an interview with Baylor President, Dr. Linda Livingstone (pictured below). The purpose of the Newsletter is to keep students updated on Baylor research in the fall before Scientia is released in the spring.

Scientia has been published yearly since 2014, and features research conducted by Baylor undergraduates. More information about Scientia is available on the Home page.

Members of the Scientia Editorial Board meeting with Dr. Linda Livingstone.
Pictured from left to right: Joshua George, Sanjana Ade, Tooba Haris, Dr. Linda Livingstone, Arvind Muruganantham, Sean Ngo, and Tiffany Luan